top of page


science fiction opera


2 h, including intermission






No age limit

What comes after humans? If anyone can remember us, what will they know about our species? What will they think about our civilization?

Posthuman is a multidisciplinary science fiction chamber opera, where different art forms come together equally. In the story, posthuman beings conduct an experiment in which human genes and memes are put into a nonhuman child. The world premiere opera is composed by Max Savikangas, the libretto and direction are by Teemu Mäki, the choreography by Petri Kekoni, and is produced by the Finnish Chamber Opera. The cast consists of Reetta Ristimäki, Petri Bäckström, Susanna Tollet, and Tuukka Haapaniemi, as well as Meri Pajunpää and Anna Stenberg as dancers, a four-member singing group, and a 10-member orchestra.

Are you interested in music, dance, theater, or visual arts? What about poetry, philosophy, politics, or posthumanism? If the answer is yes, then our performance for vocal soloists, choir, ensemble, electronics, dancers, text, images, and light is perfect for you!

The premiere of the opera was 3.3.2023 in Pannu Hall of Dance House Helsinki as part of the Musica nova Helsinki festival.


Maarit Kytöharju / Musica nova Helsinki

The music of the twelve distinct episodes is captivating, and when the soloists and quartet choir pick up the pace, it sends chills down your spine.

Tuomas Rantanen


cast and crew

Composer: Max Savikangas

Libretto & direction: Teemu Mäki

Conductor: József Hárs

Choreography: Petri Kekoni

Costume design: Iida Ukkola

Lighting design: Erno Seppälä

Sound designer & sound engineer: Anders Pohjola & Max Savikangas

Video design and generative visuals: Teemu Mäki, Calvin Guillot & Małgorzata Nowicka

Production: Finnish Chamber Opera with Greta Productions

Collaborators: Aalto-yliopiston MAGICS-hanke, Petri Kekoni Company


Vocal soloists: Reetta Ristimäki, Susanna Tollet, Petri Bäckström & Tuukka Haapaniemi

Singing group: Heta Kokkomäki, Nairi Azezian, Martti Anttila & Jussi Linnanmäki

Dancers: Meri Pajunpää & Anna Stenberg


10-member musical and electronic ensemble:

Martta Jämsä, flute, piccolo and alto flute

Vivian Neff, clarinet and bass clarinet

Olli-Pekka Tuomisalo, saxophones

Tuomo Lassila, percussion instruments

Fanny Söderström, piano and keyboards

Maria Puusaari, 1st violin (concertmaster)

Aleksi Kotila, 2nd violin

Maarit Holkko, viola

Pinja Nuñez, cello

Vilhelm Karlsson, double bass


bottom of page